The Shadow Between Us by Carol Mason @ed_pr @CarolMasonBooks #TheShadowBetweenUs @AmazonPub

 

20190312_140337.jpg
The Shadow Between Us by Carol Mason

Originally published: 21 March 2019

Author: Carol Mason

Published by: Lake Union Publishing

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Length: 262 pages

Reading dates: 5-7 March 2019

Today I’m kicking off the blog tour for The Shadows Between Us by Carol Mason!  Sold as perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Julie Cohen and Jodi Picoult, all 3 of which are go-to authors for me, I had high hopes for this and it didn’t disappoint.

The Shadows Between Us tells the story of Olivia who seems to have run away from her life and is settled in a holiday home in Port Townsend. She has left behind her husband Mark and is distant from her teenage daughter who is travelling around Europe on a gap year from University.

She is obviously traumatised and sad and is choosing to live a lonely life but one day decides to join a letter writing club, the Correspondent’s Club at a local coffee shop. It is there she meets Ned, an ex-soldier, who was been badly injured in Afghanistan and they form a bond. Both are damaged and they become friends and a source of support for each other.

This is an absorbing book – the setting of Port Townsend just sounds so beautiful (I may have Googled some pictures) and I desperately wanted to find out what had happened to Olivia. Ned was an interesting character. Younger than Olivia, he has a traumatic life and in some ways is similar to Olivia, having “run away” from his wife and son because of his mood swings. I also loved the idea of a letter writing club to help the cast of characters come to terms with their issues – I have written many a letter in the past to people who have upset me (I have never actually sent them but I’ve found just putting pen to paper has helped me to let go).

A sad story (it broke my heart and then stomped on it for good measure!), it was well written and I will look out for more of Carol Mason’s books as I think she is going to become a new favourite for me.

Thank you to ed public relations for inviting me on the blog tour. Please be sure to check out the other stops on the tour!

blog tour banner

The Shadow Between Us by Carol Mason is published in paperback and eBook on 21st March by Lake Union Publishing.  

Carol Mason headshot
Carol Mason

About the author:

Carol Mason is the women’s fiction author After You Left, a Kindle #1 and Amazon Charts Bestseller, The Secrets of Married Women, The Last Time We Met, and Send Me A Lover. She was born in the North East of England and moved to Canada when she was twenty-one and met her now husband. They live in British Columbia. Her novels are translated into more than 10 languages.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarolMasonBooks

Website: http://www.carolmasonbooks.com/

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s