Flamingo Fashion by Samantha Hunter #FlamingoFashion #SamanthaHunter @literallypr #AudioBook #ChildrensBooks #BlogTour

Flamingo Fashion by Samantha Hunter

Originally published: Dec 2020 (Audio Book); Sep 2020 (eBook)

Author: Samantha Hunter

Narrated by: Michael Maloney

Illustrated by: Maggy Roberts

Published by: Self Published

Genre: Children’s (Age 3-6)

Length: 5 mins (Audio); 11 pages (eBook)

Reading dates: 17 April 2021

Freddie and Fifi are two fashionista flamingos who decide to open a fashion boutique and style other animals on the African savanna in fluffy pink feathers. The outfits they create have silly results and calamitous outcomes, teaching the valuable lesson that we are perfect, just the way we are!

“A caper of a story that encourages creative self-expression and promotes the invaluable message that we are perfect exactly as we are.”

Available on Kindle and Audible, the audio version is narrated by actor Michael Maloney.

Aimed at children aged 3-6 this is a lovely tale of two flamingos Freddie and Fifi who open a fashion boutique on the Savannah with the aim of making it a brighter, pinker place. They dress a crocodile, a giraffe and a lion who although are at first pleased with their outfits, soon realise they don’t really suit their lifestyles!

Read by Michael Maloney who plays Edward Heath in The Crown, he does a brilliant job with the voices of all the creatures, giving them each a distinctive voice which brought the book alive. I loved reading to my children when they were younger but I was never very good at doing different voices. With the catchy upbeat music at the beginning and end of the recording, I think children would really engage with this and I can imagine listening along with the kids in the car. I wasn’t sure about the idea of an audio book for young children as I wasn’t sure they’d need something visual to look at, but having listened to this, I think it is the perfect book to engage their imagination and help with concentration!

There is also a website packed with resources to entertain children after listening/reading Flamingo Fashion: flamingofashionbook.squarespace.com

Perfect for fans of Giraffes Can’t Dance by Giles Andreae & Guy Parker-Rees and The Koala Who Could by Rachel Bright & Jim Field. Thank you to Literally PR for my gifted audio book.

About the author:

Samantha Hunter

Sam Hunter is a full-time mum, podcast host and entrepreneur. She started writing after the birth of her son in 2017 and self-published her first book – Flamingo Fashion – at the end of 2020.

Sam wrote creatively as a young girl on her weekends and during visits to her mum’s office in the summer holidays. All of her writing was about animals and it is no wonder that her first book is a children’s story set in an animal’s world!

Her first book, a middle grade novel called Freddie’s Fantastic Adventures, was inspired by a children’s t-shirt with a flamingo on the front and while out walking a few years later, the idea for Flamingo Fashion popped into her head!

Sam is passionate about developing both children’s and adult’s creativity and her writing is designed to inspire imaginations in a fun and playful way. Proceeds from the book are going to the LitWorld charity, who work to develop children’s creative confidence and literacy skills, through the power of storytelling.

Sam lives with her son, daughter and husband in Hertfordshire, England.

2 comments

  1. Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate you taking the time and I’m so glad you enjoyed it!😊. The more I have gone on my self-publishing journey, the more I have come to understand about the power of audiobooks to ignite children’s imaginations. I’m so glad you feel that Flamingo Fashion is a great book to do this! Thanks so much again for your support! Yours fashionably, Sam

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Sam Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s